Tool profile

Mailchimp

Email marketing platform with a free 250 contact plan and AI writing on paid tiers

Free tierFree for up to 250 contacts. Paid plans start at Essentials, shown as 11.75 EUR a month for 12 months with a 15% discount at the 10,000+ contact tier
Overview

Mailchimp sells email marketing in four plans: Free, Essentials, Standard and Premium. Free is capped at 250 contacts and 500 sends a month. Generative AI features are listed as included at no additional cost on Standard and Premium and not included on Essentials or Free. Price scales with contact count, and the pricing page shows euro prices with a first-year discount.

Visit Mailchimp

Is Mailchimp worth it?

What it is
Email marketing platform with a free 250 contact plan and AI writing on paid tiers
Worth a look if
Mailchimp fits a small list owner starting on the free plan, 250 contacts and 500 sends a month, who expects to move to Standard for generative AI and 200 automation flows.
Skip it if
You need AI writing on a budget plan, since Essentials lists none, or you want a flat price that does not rise with contacts.
Cost to start
Free for up to 250 contacts. Paid plans start at Essentials, shown as 11.75 EUR a month for 12 months with a 15% discount at the 10,000+ contact tier. Yes. Free plan: 250 contacts, 1 seat, 1 audience, 500 emails a month or 250 a day, and email support for the first 30 days.

Mailchimp at a glance

Job categoryEmail Marketing
What it replacesWriting newsletter and campaign copy by hand
Pricing modelFree tier
Starting priceFree for up to 250 contacts. Paid plans start at Essentials, shown as 11.75 EUR a month for 12 months with a 15% discount at the 10,000+ contact tier
Free tierFree plan: 250 contacts, 1 seat, 1 audience, 500 emails a month or 250 a day, and email support for the first 30 days.
Getting startedFree tier
Built forSmall businesses starting an email list on a free plan before paying
CompanyNot published
Last verifiedOctober 2026

Mailchimp pricing and plans

PlanPriceWhat it includesWhat that works out at
Free0 EUR a month250 contacts, 1 seat, 1 audience, 500 emails a month or 250 a day, no automation flows, no generative AI
EssentialsFrom 11.75 EUR a month for 12 months (15% off, 10,000+ contact tier)3 seats, 3 audiences, 2 roles, up to 4 flow steps, send limit 10 times contacts, 24/7 email and chat support, generative AI not included
StandardFrom 18.07 EUR a month for 12 months (15% off, 10,000+ contact tier)5 seats, 5 audiences, 4 roles, up to 200 flows, 6,000 emails a month at the lowest tier and 12 times contacts, generative AI included, 1 onboarding session
PremiumFrom 316.30 EUR a month for 12 months (15% off, 10,000+ contact tier)Unlimited seats and audiences, 5 roles, up to 200 flows, 150,000 emails a month at the lowest tier and 15 times contacts, generative AI included, SSO, phone support, 4 onboarding sessionsPremium is 316.30 / 18.07 = about 17.5 times the Standard price shown at the same contact tier, for unlimited seats and audiences and SSO.
  • Standard and Essentials list a 14-day free trial with payment details required. Premium lists a 1-month trial through sales for qualified new customers.
  • Trial applies to new customers or Free customers whose account is under 90 days old, in select countries, once per account.
  • Overages apply after the trial if contact or send limits are exceeded. Mailchimp says it will not pause campaigns while overages are paid on time.
  • SMS is a separate add-on on every paid plan. Pay As You Go is offered separately for infrequent senders.
  • Nonprofits and charities can request a 15% discount.

Paid plans are priced by contact tier from 0 to 500 up to 1,000,000+. The pricing page shows a 15% discount for 12 months at 10,000+ contacts and does not state which currency applies beyond the euro symbol shown.

Mailchimp features: what it does

  • Offers a Free plan with 250 contacts, 1 seat and 1 audience, sending capped at 500 a month or 250 a day
  • Lists generative AI features as included at no additional cost on Standard and Premium
  • Write with AI drafts marketing text from a prompt and tone, rewrites phrasing, length or tone and checks spelling and grammar
  • Standard and Premium list marketing automation flows, up to 200 flows, while Essentials lists up to 4 flow steps
  • Standard supports 5 seats and 5 audiences, Premium unlimited seats and audiences, Essentials 3 of each

Mailchimp limitations

  • The help page labels Write with AI a beta and limits it to accounts with a primary mailing address in Australia, Canada, the United Kingdom or the United States.
  • Write with AI content may not relate to alcohol, tobacco, weapons, cannabis, vaping, health or financial advice, and Mailchimp may suspend access for violations.
  • Free and Essentials list no generative AI, and Free lists no automation flows.
  • Contact and send limits trigger overages after a trial, and the page does not show a post-discount price on the fetched view.
  • The help page does not state the languages or numeric usage limits for Write with AI.

Who Mailchimp is for

Your situationWhat that means here
Newsletter under 250 contactsThe Free plan covers 250 contacts and 500 sends a month, but lists no automation flows and no generative AI.
Marketer who wants AI copy helpGenerative AI is listed as included on Standard and Premium, and not included on Essentials or Free.
Team needing lifecycle automationStandard and Premium list up to 200 flows, while Essentials lists up to 4 flow steps.
Business outside Australia, Canada, the UK or the USThe Write with AI help page limits the beta to accounts with a primary mailing address in those four countries.
Enterprise needing SSOEnterprise SSO is listed on Premium only, with unlimited seats and phone support.
Sender who mails rarelyPay As You Go is offered separately for infrequent senders, with terms on a separate page not captured here.

Mailchimp use cases for marketers

  • Drafting and rewriting newsletter and campaign copy in the email builder on Standard or Premium.
  • Running automated lifecycle flows, up to 200 on Standard and Premium, from a contact-tiered plan.

Mailchimp FAQ

Does Mailchimp have a free plan?

Yes. The Free plan lists 250 contacts, 1 seat, 1 audience and sending of 500 emails a month or 250 a day. Sending pauses if the limits are exceeded.

Which Mailchimp plans include generative AI?

The pricing page lists generative AI features as included at no additional cost on Standard and Premium, and not included on Essentials and Free.

Is there a Mailchimp free trial?

Standard and Essentials list a 14-day trial with payment details required. Premium lists a 1-month trial through sales for qualified new customers.

Mailchimp sources and references

  1. The Mailchimp marketing pricing page lists Free (250 contacts, 500 emails a month or 250 a day, 1 seat), Essentials (3 seats, up to 4 flow steps, no generative AI), Standard (5 seats, up to 200 flows, generative AI included at no additional cost) and Premium (unlimited seats, 150,000 emails a month at the lowest tier, SSO). It shows 15% off the first 12 months at 10,000+ contacts and trial terms for Standard, Essentials and Premium.mailchimp.com
  2. The Mailchimp help page for Write with AI says it generates new marketing text from a prompt and tone, changes the phrasing, length or tone of existing text and checks spelling and grammar. It is a beta included with the Standard plan or higher, available to accounts with a primary mailing address in Australia, Canada, the United Kingdom or the United States, with restricted content categories.mailchimp.com

Compiled by Alston Antony from the sources above:how we compile these entries and ouraffiliate disclosure.